Who We Are

Members of the Commission of Fine Arts meeting via videoconference, January 2022. Top row: Thomas Luebke (Secretary), Peter D. Cook, James C. McCrery II. Middle row: Hazel Ruth Edwards (Vice Chair), Billie Tsien (Chair), Justin Garrett Moore. Bottom row: Duncan G. Stroik, Rodney Mims Cook, Jr. (Image credit: CFA)

The Commission of Fine Arts

The Commission of Fine Arts is composed of seven members with expertise in the arts. Appointed by the President, Commission members serve four-year terms without compensation. The chairman and vice chairman are elected by the members.

The current members of the Commission are:

Billie Tsien, AIA, ChairAppointed 9 June 2021
Hazel Ruth Edwards, PhD, FAICP, Vice ChairAppointed 9 June 2021
Peter D. Cook, FAIAAppointed 9 June 2021
Lisa E. Delplace, FASLAAppointed 7 April 2022
James C. McCrery, II, AIA, NCARBAppointed 17 December 2019
Justin Garrett Moore, FAICPAppointed 9 June 2021

Past members of the Commission of Fine Arts

The Old Georgetown Board

Under the Old Georgetown Act, the Old Georgetown Board of Architectural Consultants is a panel of three architects who advise the Commission of Fine Arts on projects in the Old Georgetown historic district. The architects are appointed by the Commission and serve three-year terms without compensation.

The current members of the Board are:

H. Alan Brangman, AIA, ChairCurrent term of service began 3 July 2019
Amy Weinstein, FAIACurrent term of service began 1 September 2020
Ashley Wilson, FAIA, ASIDCurrent term of service began 2 September 2021

Past members of the Old Georgetown Board


The Staff of the Commission of Fine Arts, which administers the operations of the Commission and the Old Georgetown Board, consists of twelve full-time civil service employees.  The current members of the CFA staff are:

Thomas Luebke, FAIASecretary
Sarah Batcheler, AIA, LEED APAssistant Secretary
Jessica AmosHistoric Preservation Specialist, Old Georgetown Act
Mary Catherine BogardHistoric Preservation Specialist, Old Georgetown Act
Anna BrownSenior Administration/Policy Advisor
Kay Fanning, PhDHistorian
Daniel FoxSenior Advisor, Design Review & Historic Preservation
Carlton HartSenior Urban Planner
Samantha JonesChief Operating Officer
Vivian LeeArchitect, Shipstead-Luce Act
Susan RaposaTechnical Information Specialist
Tony SimonArchitect and Planner
Zakiya WaltersAdministrative Officer