CFA 17/MAY/12-6

Project name
Congressional Gold Medals of Honor for the Native American code talkers of World War I and World War II

United States

U.S. Department of the Treasury
U.S. Mint
Designs for four gold medals (with silver and bronze duplicates) for the Comanche Nation, Kiowa Tribe, Santee Dakota Sioux Tribe, and Tlingit Tribe. (Previous: CFA 17/MAY/01-2, Navajo Code Talkers Congressional Gold Medal)
Review Type


Dear Mr. Peterson:

In its meeting of 17 May, the Commission of Fine Arts reviewed alternative designs for four Congressional Gold Medals in accordance with the Code Talkers Recognition Act of 2008. The Commission commented on the relatively limited range of alternatives, and provided the following recommendations:

Comanche Nation. The Commission members recommended obverse #2 and reverse #2, with the guidance that the two insignias on the reverse be reduced in size so that they are contained within the coin's circular border. They also suggested consideration of eliminating the small circular outline of the rider's shield on the reverse emblem, commenting that this detail would not be legible at the scale of the medal.

Kiowa Tribe. The Commission recommended obverse #1 and reverse #2, with the suggestion to unify the split background behind the buffalo head emblem as an unnecessary sculptural translation of a graphic design feature from the source material.

Santee Dakota Sioux Tribe. The Commission recommended obverse #1 and reverse #1, noting support for the stylized depiction of the eagle on the preferred reverse.

Tlingit Tribe. The Commission recommended obverse #1 and reverse #2, and did not support the suggestion of the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee to extend the circular border motif to the area behind the whale's tail on the reverse.

The Commission members expressed appreciation for the advice of the Native American groups in developing the designs. As always, the staff is available to assist you with future submissions.


/s/Thomas E. Luebke, FAIA

Richard A. Peterson, Deputy Director
United States Mint
801 9th Street, NW, 8th Floor
Washington, DC 20220

cc: Ron Harrigal, U.S. Mint