Congressional Gold Medals

Congressional Gold Medals are authorized by Congress to honor nationally significant achievements of their recipients. The 2006 medal honoring the Tuskegee Airmen uses the traditional profile on the obverse; the 2007 medal for grain scientist Norman Borlaug employs a landscape setting for the portrait on the obverse. The CFA reviewed the design of the former in September 2006 and the design of the latter in March 2007.

(Image credit: United States Mint)