CFA Meeting — 18 June 2020

Please note: The 18 June meeting of the Commission of Fine Arts will take place on Zoom. For reasons of security, both applicants and members of the public are required to register for the meeting here. A link to the meeting will be provided via email once registration is complete. We recommend registering in advance, although it will be possible to register during the meeting as well. 

During the meeting, attendees will not be visible or audible. For members of the public wishing to comment on submissions, written comments will be accepted through the public comments page on the CFA website or via email to; please submit comments by 4pm on Wednesday, June 17. Comments will be shared with the Commission members before the meeting and entered into the public record.

9:00 A.M. CONVENE, via Zoom internet videoconference.


A. Approval of minutes: 21 May 2020

B. Dates of next meetings: 16 July 2020, 17 September 2020, 15 October 2020

C. Proposed 2021 schedule of meetings and submission deadlines for the Commission and Old Georgetown Board.

D. Appointment of Amy Weinstein, FAIA, to the Old Georgetown Board.

E. Report on the 2020 National Capital Arts and Cultural Affairs grant program.

F. Confirmation of the recommendations from the subcommittee’s review of six submissions from the U.S. Mint for June 2020:

1. CFA 18/JUN/20-7, 2021 Christa McAuliffe Commemorative Silver Dollar. Obverse and reverse designs for a silver one-dollar coin. Final.
2. CFA 18/JUN/20-8, Armed Forces Military Medal honoring the United States Marine Corps Silver Medal. Obverse and reverse designs for a silver medal and bronze duplicates. Final. (Previous: CFA 17/OCT/19-10, U.S. Navy)
3. CFA 18/JUN/20-9, 2021 American Eagle Gold and Silver Coins. Obverse and reverse designs for a one-dollar silver coin and 5-, 10-, 25-, and 50-dollar gold coins. Final.
4. CFA 18/JUN/20-10, Congressional Gold Medal honoring Larry Doby. Design for gold medal with bronze duplicates. Final.
5. CFA 18/JUN/20-11, Donald J. Trump Bronze Presidential Medal. Design for bronze medal. Final. (Previous: CFA 16/JUN/16-9, Barack Obama, 1st and 2nd terms)
6. CFA 18/JUN/20-12, Steven T. Mnuchin Secretary of the Treasury Medal. Design for a bronze medal. Final.